Prof. Jane Aldrich 2018-06-01T13:49:03+00:00

Prof. Jane V. Aldrich, Ph.D.

Professor Jane V. Aldrich received a B.S. in biochemistry from Michigan State University, and then pursued her Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry at the University of Michigan under the guidance of Professor Raymond Counsell. She was then an NIH postdoctoral fellow at the University of Minnesota where she began her research on opioid peptides with Professor Philip Portoghese. She rose through the ranks at Oregon State University and the University of Maryland Baltimore prior to moving to the University of Kansas in 2001. In 2015 she joined the University of Florida as professor of medicinal chemistry under the university’s Preeminence Initiative in drug discovery and development.

Dr. Aldrich’s research focuses on the design and synthesis of peptide and peptidomimetic analogs of opioid peptides, along with the development of synthetic methods to prepare these analogs. In recent years her research has expanded to include studies related to drug development, and the anticancer activity of selected peptides. She has published over 100 papers and has been continuously funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse for over 25 years, including receiving an Independent Scientist Award (1998-2009).

Dr. Aldrich has held a number of professional leadership rolls. She has been active in the Medicinal Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society, serving as Vice Chair, Chair and Past Chair (1999-2001) and is currently an Academic Councilor (2014-2019) for the division. She has also been active in the American Peptide Society (Councilor 2001-2007, President Elect, President and Past President, 2003-2009) and was Co-vice Chair (2002) and Co-chair (2004) of the Gordon Research Conference on the Chemistry and Biology of Peptides. She is currently chair of the National Institutes of Health Drug Discovery for the Nervous System grant review committee (2015-2019) and is on the editorial board of several journals, including the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2016-2018); she previously was an editor of the journal Letters in Peptide Science (1994-2004).